2015 Police Week Events

Each year, law enforcement agencies throughout the United States participate in National Police Week.  As a tribute to fallen officers and their families, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed May 15th as Peace Officers Memorial Day.  The week in which May 15th falls is known as Police Week.

This year, National Police Week will occur May 10th – 16th, with two special events held locally.

On Wednesday, May 13th, the La Crosse Police Department will host the 16th Annual Awards Recognition Ceremony.  The ceremony will take place at 7:00PM at the Black River Beach Neighborhood Center at 1433 Rose Street in La Crosse, WI.  The purpose of the Awards Recognition Program is to, “properly recognize, through tangible and public recognition, acts of heroism, outstanding service, or exemplary performances by the officers of the La Crosse Police Department, as well as contributions by involved citizens”.

The following individuals will be recognized:

  • Ethan Palmer – Citizen Award of Excellence
  • Officer Todd Fischer – Traffic Safety Award
  • Lieutenant Daniel Kloss – Northwestern University Staff & Command School Graduate
  • Officer Dustin Darling – Life Preservation Award
  • Officer Dakota Jelinski – Life Preservation Award
  • Lieutenant Avrie Schott – Life Preservation Award
  • Officer Daniel Ulrich – Superior Achievement Award
  • Officer Brooke Privet – Superior Achievement Award
  • Officer Tyler Pond – Superior Achievement Award
  • Officer Casey Kamps – Superior Achievement Award
  • Officer Brian Deyo – Departmental Citation
  • Officer Rick Rank – Departmental Citation
  • Officer Charles Frandsen – Department Citation

On Friday, May 15th at 10:00AM, the Holmen Police Department will host the Police Memorial Day Ceremony in Holmen Village Park at 229 West Roberts Street in Holmen, WI.

All members of the public are invited and encouraged to attend these special events!

To learn more about National Police Week, visit www.policeweek.org.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: